First to last Indian National Congress Sessions since 1885 Victory

Table of Contents

Indian National Congress Sessions

Introduction- The Indian national congress was established in the late 80s in Mumbai, 28th November 1885. The only strongest political parties before the independence.

The Retired British Officer A.O Hume played a huge part in bringing Indians from the various regions together to form such a party.
The formation of the Indian National Congress was an effort in the direction of promoting the process of nation-building.

Dadabhai Naoroji, Romesh Chandra, Surendranath Banerji, W.C Bonnerji, and many leaders were largely from Bombay.
In an effort to reach all regions it was decided to rotate the congress session among different parts of the country & though the national congress sessions were held.

The record shows 73 numbers in a total of sessions held in India during the period from 1885 to 1965.

indian national congress sessions
Indian national congress sessions

The Major 25 Indian National Congress sessions.

1885- The very first session was held at Mumbai in 1885 for the formation of the Indian National Congress.
President – W.C Bannerji.

1887- Madras, In this session Badruddin Tyabji became the 1st Muslim to preside over the congress
President – Syed Badruddin Tyabji.

1896 – Calcutta, The National song ‘ Vande Mataram was sung by Rabindra Nath Tagore for the first time
President – Rahimtullah Sayani.

1899 – Lucknow, The demand for permanent fixation of land revenue came into work.
President- Romesh Chandra Dutt

1901- Calcutta, the very first time Gandhiji has appeared on the congress platform
President- Dinshaw E.Wacha.

1905- Banaras, the formal proclamation of the Swadeshi Movement against Government took place
President – Gopal Krishna Gokhale.

7) 1906 – Calcutta, The adoption of 4 resolutions.
1) Swaraj (self Government), 2) Boycott Movement.
3) Swadeshi. 4) National Education.
President – Dadabhai Naoroji.

1907- Surat, Split between congress, moderates & extremists. The Adjournment of the session took place.
President – Ras Bihari Ghosh

1910 – Allahbad, M.A Jinha described the separate electorate system introduced by act 1909
President – Sir William Wedderburn.

1911 – Calcutta, The very first time our National Anthem ‘ Jan-Gan-Man was Recital.
President – B.N Dhar

1916 – Lucknow, it was the reunion between Moderates & Extremist of congress. & also the pact between congress & the Muslim league was signed in this session to build political consensus.
President – A.C Majumdar.

1917 – Calcutta, The very first Women president was given a place in the session
President – Annie Besant

1919 – Amritsar, The support to Khilafat Movement was Extended 9 the movement which was also known by Muslim movement it was the pan-Islamist political protest campaign.
President – Motilal Nehru.

1920 – Calcutta, This session was also known as a special session because Mahatma Gandhi moved the non-co-operation resolution.
President -Lala Rajpat Rai.

1922 – Gaya, ( the city in Bihar ) C, R Das, and some leaders broke with Indian national congress & then the formation of Swaraj party was done.
President – C.R Das.

1925 – Kanpur, The very first Indian woman President was announced, Sarojini Naidu.
President – Sarojini Naidu

1927 – Madras, passed the resolution against the use of Indian troops in China, Iran & Mesopotamia.
-The Boycott of Simon Commission was also passed during this session

1928 – Calcutta, The formation of All India Youth Congress.
President – Motilal Nehru

1929 – Lahore, Passed the resolution on ‘ Poorna Swaraj’.
Civil Disobedience movement for complete independence to be launched.
26 January to be observed as Independence Day.
President – Jawaharlal Nehru.

1931 – Karachi, Resolution on Fundamental Rights & National Economic Programme came into force
Endorsement of Gandhi – Irwin pact
Gandhi was Nominated to represent INC in the Second Round Table Conference to be held in London.
President – Vallabhbhai Patel

1934 – Bombay, Amendment was seen on the constitution of Congress
President – Rajendra Prasad

1936 – Lucknow, The push towards Socialist ideas by Jawaharlal Nehru took place.
President – Jawahar lal nehru

1939 – Tripuri, Subhas Chandra Bose was re-elected but had to resign
Rajendra Prasad was appointed on his place
Subhas Chandra formed ‘ Forward Bloc’
President – Rajendra Prasad

1940 – Ramgarh, Civil Disobedience movement to be launched at appropriate time & circumstances.
President – Abdul Kalam Azad.

1941/45 – This period is marked as the event ‘ Quit India Movement’ RIN Mutiny & INA Trials.
The phase of constitutional negotiations such as Cripps Mission, Wavell Plan & Cabinet Mission.
On account of these events during this phase, no congress session was held

1946 – Meerut, Last Session before Independence.
J.B Kriplani was the president of INC at Independence.

This Indian national congress sessions changed indian history.



This was an overview of the Indian National congress sessions. We had discussed important sessions which took place in History.


Leave a Comment